Prof Ambrose Agweyu


Prof Ambrose Agweyu


Head of Epidemiology and Demography


Ambrose is a paediatrician and clinical epidemiologist with a research career spanning more than ten years in epidemiology, implementation science, pragmatic clinical trials, and evidence synthesis with a focus on childhood respiratory infections. Some of his work has ignited debate around the appropriateness of WHO and Kenyan guidelines for the management of pneumonia in children. More recently, he has overseen a large programme of clinical and seroepidemiological surveillance of SARS-CoV-2, contributing towards the few published reports on the unique epidemiology of COVID-19 in Africa. He currently co-leads the Clinical Information Network. This collaboration of researchers, policymakers, and practising health professionals at 22 Kenyan hospitals has supported the generation and use of routine data to improve care, understand patient outcomes and evaluate interventions since 2013. Over the last five years, he has championed the regional growth of this Learning Network to Tanzania, where it is currently running under the leadership of the Paediatric Association of Tanzania. Nationally, Ambrose serves on various Ministry of Health technical panels where he has engaged in developing policy and strategy for newborn, child, and adolescent health. He is also the immediate former co-chair, and a member of the Child Health Accountability Tracking (CHAT) Technical Advisory Group convened by WHO and UNICEF. 


Other roles 

  • Adjunct Professor (Department of Pediatrics, Stanford University, USA)  
  • Adjunct Faculty (Institute of Healthcare Management, Strathmore University, Kenya) 
  • Member, Child Health Accountability Tracking (CHAT) Technical Advisory Group (WHO/UNICEF) 
  • Member, Life Course Quality of Care Metrics Working Group (WHO) 
  • Member, Child Health Panel of Experts (Ministry of Health, Kenya) 
  • Committee member, Population and Public Health Early Career Advisory Group (Wellcome Trust) 
  • National Board member and member of Scientific Committee(Kenya Paediatric Association) 
  • Member, Research Committee Advisory Board (Kenya Medical Association) 
  • Member, Keprecon 

Group team members

  • Lynda Isaaka
  • Teresiah Njoroge
  • Morris Ogero
  • Livingstone Mumelo
  • Dennis Kimego
  • Metrine Saisi
  • Elizabeth Kyala

Internal: Amek Nyaguara, Anthony Etyang, Anthony Scott, Benjamin Tsofa, Bob Snow, Charles Nyaigoti, Dorcas Kamuya, Edwine Barasa, Emelda Okiro, George Githinji, George Warimwe, Grace Irimu, Isabella Oyier, Jacquie Oliwa, Jalemba Aluvaala, James Nokes, James Nyagwange, Jay Berkely, John Ojal, Katherine Gallagher, Mainga Hamaluba, Michuki Maina, Mike English, Philip Bejon, Samuel Akech, Sam Kinyanjui, Sarah Atkinson, Shirine Voller, Sophie Uyoga, Silvia Kariuki, Tom Williams, Victor Alegana, Wangeci Kagucia, 

External: Adolfine Hokororo (Bugando Medical Centre, Tanzania), Caroline Mwangi (MoH, Kenya), Charles Opondo (LSHTM), Chris Paton (University of Oxford), Christine Joyce-Lynn (Weil Cornell Medical College), David Gathara (LSHTM), Elizabeth Allen (LSHTM), Evans Kamuri (Kenyatta National Hospital), Francis Wafula (Strathmore University), Fred Were (Keprecon), Geoffrey Omuse (Aga Khan University Hospital), Gilbert Kokwaro (Strathmore University), Heather Zar (University of Cape Town), Ifedayo Adetifa (CDC Nigeria), Jane Chuma (The World Bank Group), Jane Crawley (Oxford University), Jennifer Requejo (UNICEF), Jose Maria Ferer (American Heart Association), Kadondi Kasera (MoH, Kenya), Kathleen Strong (World Health Organization), Kenneth Munge (The World Bank Group), Kim Mulholland (University of Melbourne), Martin Weber (World Health Organization), Mercy Mwangangi (MoH, Kenya), Michael Alfonzo (Weil Cornell Medical College), Moise Muzigaba (World Health Organization), Patrick Amoth (MoH, Kenya), Peter Meaney (Stanford University), Peter Waiswa (Makerere University), Rashid Aman (MoH, Kenya), Richard Lilford (University of Warwick), Sanam Roder-DeWan (The World Bank Group), Segolame Setlhare (American Heart Association), Theopista Masenge (Paediatric Association of Tanzania), Wangari Ng’ang’a (PPSU, Kenya), Yasir Bin Nisar (World Health Organization), 


Wellcome Trust, MRC-UK, NIHR, FCDO, BMGF, GCRF-UK, The World Bank Group