Management Team


Prof. Philip Bejon

Executive Director KWTRP

pbejon@kemri-wellcome.org

Dr. Joseph Mwangangi

Ag. Deputy Director CGMRC

jmwangangi@kemri-wellcome.org

Prof. Edwine Barasa

Nairobi Director, KWTRP

ebarasa@kemri-wellcome.org

Dr. Sam Muchina Kinyanjui

Director - IDeAL & Head of Training

skmuchina@kemri-wellcome.org

Dr. Catherine Kenyatta

Chief Operating Officer

ckenyatta@kemri-wellcome.org

Dr. Norbert Peshu

Chief Research Officer

npeshu@kemri-wellcome.org

Heads of Scientific Departments


Prof. Dorcas Kamuya

Head of Health Systems and Research Ethics

dkamuya@kemri-wellcome.org

Prof. Isabella Oyier

Head of Bioscience

LiOchola@kemri-wellcome.org

Dr. Mainga Hamaluba

Head of Clinical Research

MHamaluba@kemri-wellcome.org

Dr. Ambrose Agweyu

Head of Epidemiology and Demography

aagweyu@kemri-wellcome.org

Prof. Edwine Barasa

Nairobi Director, KWTRP

ebarasa@kemri-wellcome.org

Ms. Noni Mumba

Head of Engagement

nmumba@kemri-wellcome.org

Bioscience


Prof. Isabella Oyier

Head of Bioscience

LiOchola@kemri-wellcome.org

Dr. Francis Ndung'u

Principal Investigator

FNdungu@kemri-wellcome.org

Prof. Faith Osier

Principal Investigator

fosier@kemri-wellcome.org

Dr. Etienne De Villiers

Head of Bioinformatics

evilliers@kemri-wellcome.org

Dr. Martin Rono

Head of Biobank

MRono@kemri-wellcome.org

Prof George Warimwe

Principal Investigator

gwarimwe@kemri-wellcome.org

Prof. Charles Mbogo

Principal Investigator

cmbogo@kemri-wellcome.org

Kevin Marsh

Principal Investigator

k.marsh@aasciences.org

Dr. Melissa Kapulu

Post - Doc

mkapulu@kemri-wellcome.org

Dr. Eunice Nduati

Principal Investigator

enduati@kemri-wellcome.org

Abdirahman Abdi

Principal Investigator

aabdi@kemri-wellcome.org

Marta Ferreira Maia

Principal Investigator

mmaia@kemri-wellcome.org

James Njunge

Post - Doc

jnjunge@kemri-wellcome.org

Dr. James Nyagwange

Post Doc

JNyagwange@kemri-wellcome.org

Epidemiology & Demography


Dr. Ambrose Agweyu

Head of Epidemiology and Demography

aagweyu@kemri-wellcome.org

Prof. Anthony Scott

Principal Investigator

ascott@kemri-wellcome.org

Prof. Tom Williams

Principal Investigator

twilliams@kemri-wellcome.org

Prof. James Nokes

Principal Investigator

jnokes@kemri-wellcome.org

Prof. Ifedayo Adetifa

Principal Investigator

IAdetifa@kemri-wellcome.org

Dr. Sarah Atkinson

Principal Investigator

satkinson@kemri-wellcome.org

Dr. Anthony Etyang

Principal Investigator

aetyang@kemri-wellcome.org

Dr. Charles Sande

Principal Investigator

csande@kemri-wellcome.org

Dr. George Githinji

Post Doc

ggithinji@kemri-wellcome.org

Dr. Sophie Uyoga

Post - Doc

suyoga@kemri-wellcome.org

Dr. Amek Nyaguara

Head of Surveillance

ANyaguara@kemri-wellcome.org

Dr. Charles Agoti

Post - Doc

cnyaigoti@kemri-wellcome.org

Dr Silvia Kariuki

Post - Doc

SNKariuki@kemri-wellcome.org

Ms. Shirine Voller

ED Programme Manager

svoller@kemri-wellcome.org

Katherine Gallagher

POST-DOC

KGallagher@kemri-wellcome.org

Clinical Research


Dr. Mainga Hamaluba

Head of Clinical Research

MHamaluba@kemri-wellcome.org

Prof. James Jay Berkley

Principal Investigator

JBerkley@kemri-wellcome.org

Prof. Kathryn Maitland

Principal Investigator

kathryn.maitland@gmail.com

Prof. Eduard Sanders

Principal Investigator

esanders@kemri-wellcome.org

Prof. Charles Newton

Principal Investigator

cnewton@kemri-wellcome.org

Dr. Neema Mturi

Head of Clinical Service

nmturi@kemri-wellcome.org

Peter Olupot Olupot

Principal Investigator

polupotolupot@yahoo.com

Dr. Martha Mwangome

Principal Investigator

MMwangome@kemri-wellcome.org

Dr. Alison Talbert

Principal Investigator

atalbert@kemri-wellcome.org

Dr. Ally Olotu

Principal Investigator- Affiliate

aolotu@ihi.or.tz

Health System & Research Ethics


Prof. Dorcas Kamuya

Head of Health Systems and Research Ethics

dkamuya@kemri-wellcome.org

Dr. Benjamin Tsofa

Principal Research Officer

BTsofa@kemri-wellcome.org

Prof. Sassy Molyneux

Principal Investigator

smolyneux@kemri-wellcome.org

Prof. Vicki Marsh

Principal Investigator

VMarsh@kemri-wellcome.org

Ms. Noni Mumba

Head of Engagement

nmumba@kemri-wellcome.org

Dr. Caroline Jones

Principal Investigator

cjones@kemri-wellcome.org

Dr. Primus Chi

Post-Doc

PChi@kemri-wellcome.org

Dr. Alun Davies

Schools Engagement Lead

adavies@kemri-wellcome.org

Nairobi Programme


Prof. Edwine Barasa

Nairobi Director, KWTRP

ebarasa@kemri-wellcome.org

Prof. Mike English

Principal Investigator

menglish@kemri-wellcome.org

Prof. Bob Snow

Principal Investigator

rsnow@kemri-wellcome.org

Dr. Dejan Zurovac

Principal Investigator

dzurovac@kemri-wellcome.org

Dr. Emelda Okiro

Principal Investigator

eokiro@kemri-wellcome.org

Dr. Sam Akech

Principal Investigator

SAkech@kemri-wellcome.org

Dr. Kui Muraya

Principal Investigator

KMuraya@kemri-wellcome.org

Prof. David Gathara

Post Doc

dgathara@kemri-wellcome.org

Dr. Peter Mugo

POST DOC

PMugo@kemri-wellcome.org

Dr. Jacquie Narotso Oliwa

POST DOC

joliwa@kemri-wellcome.org

Dr. Jalemba Aluvaala

POST DOC

JAluvaala@kemri-wellcome.org

Prof. Abdisalan Mohamed Noor

Principal Investigator

anoor@kemri-wellcome.org

Dr. Jacinta Nzinga

Post Doc

JNzinga@kemri-wellcome.org

Operation Team


Nahashon Manyara

Health and Safety Officer

NManyara@kemri-wellcome.org

Mary Muthomi

Head of Finance

mmuthomi@kemri-wellcome.org

Hillary Ondatto

Head of Human Resources

hondatto@kemri-wellcome.org

Catherine Macharia

Head of Facilities and Transport

cmacharia@kemri-wellcome.org

Rachael Ongalo

Head of Information Technology

rongalo@kemri-wellcome.org

David Adede

Security Officer

dadede@kemri-wellcome.org

Veronica Wambugu

Head of Operations Nairobi

vwambugu@kemri-wellcome.org